Adding Contacts allows you to easily keep track of important people associated with your art business, such as collectors and galleries. This ensures you have their details available whenever and wherever you need them. You can also create Contact Groups from your Contact Records to easily sort and organize contacts for future communication.
Did you know?
There is no limit on the number of Contact records you can create and store. You are able to manage and continue growing your network!
How to Add a New Contact in Artwork Archive
Click Contacts in your left-side menu
Click the New Contact button in the top menu
Click each tab name at the top of the form (Contact Info, Addresses, About, and Relationships) to fill in the Contact's details. You don't need to fill in every tab.
The only required field is First Name or Company Name. You can always come back and update/edit your Contact records at any time.
All of the tabs are part of the same form, so you only need to click Save Contact once when you're done.
Click Save Contact on the bottom right of your screen
Did you know?
On Collector and Organization accounts, the Relationships tab also has Contact Type toggles: Artist, Appraiser, Maintenance Contact, Client, and Donor. Organization accounts can also add Alt Text to a Contact Image and give an artist a password-protected upload page from the Artist Upload tab.
How to Add a Contact to a Contact Group
Note:
To add your Contact to a Group, you must first create a Contact Group.
Add One Contact to a Contact Group from the Contact Form
While creating or editing a Contact, open the Relationships tab
Under Groups & Location, click in the Groups field and choose the Contact Group from the list. This marks the Contact as affiliated with the other Contacts in that group.
You can choose more than one group
To remove a group, click the × next to its name
Click Save Contact
Did you know?
Organizing your Contacts into Contact Groups allows you to select your curated Contact Group(s) when sharing files, Reports and Private Rooms in bulk to your specified groups. When sharing, choose a group from the Group Send drop-down to send to ALL Contacts in that group at once.
Add Several Contacts to a Contact Group at Once
Click Contacts in your left-side menu
Click the Groups button in the top menu
On the Contact Groups page, click Actions next to the group you want to change, then select Edit
Under Select your Contacts, the Contacts column lists the Contacts that aren't in the group yet. Use Contact Search or the Show Filters button to narrow down the list, then select each Contact you want to add, or click Add all [#] contacts.
Check that everyone you want is listed in the Selected Contacts column, then click Save Group. To start over, click Remove all [#] contacts.
Did you know?
To see everyone in a Contact Group, click Actions next to the group and select View Contacts. Your Contacts page opens filtered to that group.
How to Add a Contact to a Location
Note:
To add your Contact to a Location, you must first create a Location from Locations in your left-side menu.
Assign a Location to a Contact from the Contact Form
While creating or editing a Contact, open the Relationships tab
Under Groups & Location, choose the Location you've already created from the Location Relation drop-down. This marks the Contact as affiliated with that Location record in your account.
If you have many Locations, type in the box at the top of the list to find one quickly
Click Save Contact
How to Edit a Contact Record
Click Contacts in your left-side menu
Click Actions next to the Contact, then select Edit
You can also open the Contact record and click Edit at the top of the page
Update the Contact's details on any of the Contact Info, Addresses, About, and Relationships tabs
Click Save Contact
How to Delete a Contact Record
Click Contacts in your left-side menu
Click Actions next to the Contact, then select Edit
Click Delete Contact on the bottom left of the Edit Contact form
A pop-up asks you to confirm. Click YES, DELETE to permanently delete the Contact, or NO, DO NOT DELETE to go back.
Important Note:
Deleting a Contact is a permanent action and cannot be undone. It also deletes all of that Contact's associated data, including any Invoices you have for them. Be sure that this record can/should be deleted from your account data before doing so.
(click the drop-down arrow below to expand)
What You'll See on a Contact Record
What You'll See on a Contact Record
Contact record name: This is the only required field when creating a Contact record.
Edit, Invoice, and Add Reminder: Use these buttons at the top of the record to open the Edit Contact form, create an Invoice for this Contact, or add a reminder. To add a reminder, choose a Date, type a Message, then click Save.
Main Contact information: The Contact's image, phone number, email address, and primary and secondary addresses are listed here, along with links to their website and social media.
Contact Groups: Any Contact Groups that you've added this Contact to will be listed here. Clicking on one of these linked Contact Groups will take you to the Contact Group to view all other Contacts included in the group.
Contact Tags: You can further categorize and organize your Contacts by tagging them. Tags can be any custom wording that makes sense for your CRM tracking and organization.
Contact-specific reminders: You can create reminders specific to any of your Contacts. These will also be listed and linked in your Schedule. You will also be emailed from product@artworkarchive.com with your upcoming to-dos each Monday to the email address associated with your Artwork Archive account.
Sharing history: Any time you share a file, Invoice, Report, or a Private Room, you'll have a full record of the sharing history within the Contact record under Recently shared with.
Contact Notes: You can include any notes about the Contact here such as how you met, their taste in art, upcoming projects you're collaborating on, etc.
Open Proposals: Any open Proposals (i.e. not marked as "paid") will be listed here with a status tag, such as Invoiced. You can click on the Proposal name to jump to the full Proposal record and further information.
Purchase/Acquisition history: Any Pieces you've marked as sold, donated, or gifted, and affiliated with this Contact record, will be listed within the Contact record, giving you a full purchase history for reference.
Recent Accounting Records: Revenue and expense records connected to this Contact are listed here. Click See All Expense/Revenue to view the full list.
Added Additional Files: This is a way to store existing files that you want to associate with a particular Contact. Examples could include commission contracts, consignment reports, gallery contracts, etc. Use the Actions menu next to a file to View, Download, Copy URL, Share, Edit, or Delete it.
Note that this feature is only available on Artist Professional and Master Plans, Collector Premier, and all Organization accounts.
Add New File: Click this link to add more Additional Files to the Contact record. Drag and drop a file into the Upload file box or click it to browse your device (any file type, up to 30MB), add a Name and any Notes, then click Save File.
At the very bottom of the record, you'll see when it was last updated and by whom. Click View Activity to see its full history.
How to Generate a Contact Report
You can easily generate a report of your Contact records. Here's how:
Click Contacts in your left-side menu
Select New Report in the top menu > Contact Report
Your Contact Report will then be generated and stored on your Reports page.
Did you know?
Your Contact Report includes the Contacts showing on your Contacts page. To report on only some Contacts, search or use the Filter bar (Relation, Group, Location, Tags) first. The New Report menu shows how many Contacts will be included, such as "For 8 contacts," and also offers Address Labels, Export to XLS, and Export to CSV.















